Buzzing in the Bay

An exploration of healthy caffeine alternatives

Ch-ch-ch-chia is making a comeback

Leave a comment

The first time I ever heard the word “chia,” was when I had a chia pet more than 10 years ago. Now within the past couple of years, chia seeds have risen in popularity again but this time as an edible substance.

From pudding to pancakes, chia seeds are getting incorporated in to more and more products that are readily available for purchase. I’ve noticed them the most in health drinks such as Coco Libre, Chia Star and Enlightened Synergy.

_DSC0133I’ve tried chia seeds before in kombucha but with the mixture of fermented taste and slimy texture, I wasn’t a fan. When I saw Mamma Chia Blackberry Hibiscus a few weeks later, I thought I’d give chia seeds another chance; mainly because I know they are good for me.

Benefits of this superfood:

  • Richest plant source of Omega-3
  • Contains antioxidants
  • High in protein and fiber

The whole point of me buying this drink was for the energy boost, which according to the bottle was supposed to be naturally occurring.

I wasn’t completely clear what this meant, so I did some research and found that it’s the complex carbs in chia seeds that break down slowly to maintain a steady level of energy throughout the day.

Although I didn’t necessarily feel as energetic as I would have liked, I did feel happier and more rejuvenated; which now thinking back, maybe have been due to the workout my jaw went through by chewing, what felt like, thousands of tiny chia seeds.

I definitely plan on continuing to eat chia seeds for its health benefits and the overall sense of well-being I felt after I finished the bottle of Mamma Chia. However, the energy level I was hoping for was just not there.

In regards to an immediate jolt and on a scale of 1-10, I would rate Mamma Chia a two.

Leave a Reply

