Buzzing in the Bay

An exploration of healthy caffeine alternatives

Vinegar that can be used for more than just salad dressing

Leave a comment

A few months ago my friend told me she was drinking up to four tablespoons of apple cider vinegar (mixed with honey and water to lighten the taste) every morning and as a result she was feeling great. As a total health nut, I believed her when she said it gave her more energy and her body an overall sense of well-being.

_DSC0789

Having just spent a year abroad, I was determined to come back to the States and get on a complete health kick; and drinking apple cider vinegar was just going to be one of daily my routines.

Out of all honesty, I completely forgot about this idea. Then as I was walking around Whole Foods the other day looking for a caffeine alternative to test out, I came across a drink by Bragg. Growing up in a vegetarian household, I was well aware of this company. We had their salad dressings, liquid aminos and nutritional yeast.

I was throughly surprised when I saw Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar Drink. I was amazed and scared at the same time. I know, as well as everyone else, that vinegar is not something that is considered a leisurely drink. In fact, I would think the opposite. I mean, my dad used to soak his foot in apple cider vinegar to cure athlete’s foot or some kind of fungus; so I don’t really associate vinegar with a drink.

Either way, I didn’t think twice when I saw this drink. I knew I had to try it.

Advertising that it was great for a quick energy boost, gluten free and is entirely organic, I was sold. There were other flavors to choose from including Ginger Spice, Apple-Cinnamon and Limeade (which had a variation of sugar and calories) but I decided to stick with Concord Grape-Acaí. Being no stranger to grape juice, I am well aware that it is a tart drink and I was hoping it would help mask the intense taste of vinegar.

When I first opened the bottle and took a sniff, I was instantly reminded of my experience with fermented Kombucha. No surprise, I was a bit skeptical – like I always am when it comes to a sour smelling drink.

Anyway, I kept an open mind. I can vouch for Bragg products and I trust my friend’s suggestions when it comes to health related topics so I drank it. Correction:  I chugged it.

To my utter astonishment, it woke me up! I had been incredibly lazy all morning and unable to even drag myself out of bed. Then lo behold, I was out and about and talking up a storm.

Despite the acidic taste and scent, this drink is extremely effective. It’s healthy with less than six all-organic ingredients, doesn’t contain caffeine, acts as a detox, has a tolerable taste (with an open mind) and is an efficient energy boost.

In regards to an immediate jolt and on a scale of 1-10, I would rate Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar Drink an eight.

Leave a Reply

