Buzzing in the Bay

An exploration of healthy caffeine alternatives

From partying to studying: An all natural energy drink to the rescue?

Leave a comment

In an attempt to find another natural source of energy, I came across an energy drink that does not have caffeine or high fructose corn syrup. I was thinking to myself, “okay, this can either be a misleading advertisement or a drink that actually gives me energy.”

I have come across numerous energy drinks that claim they are sugar free, natural and low in calorie; when in fact, it is just low in calories and sugar free because of an artificial sweetener that is actually worse than consuming actual sugar.

_DSC0532

In addition, energy drinks contain Guarana, Carnitine and Taurine, all of which are not the best ingredients for consumption.

I was amazed and skeptical when I came across the energy drinks, GolferAid and PartyAid, that did not have any of these ingredients and was only 45 calories. I tried to keep an open mind when I was drinking GolferAid, but it didn’t help my case.

Although it didn’t have the taste or as much carbonation as a common energy drink, such as Red Bull or Rockstar, I didn’t really enjoy the taste. It wasn’t excessively sweet and I was able to chug it extremely quick, but I wouldn’t buy it again. It didn’t give me the wakeup jolt I was looking for and even as I was drinking it, I was already thinking about the cup of coffee I was desperate to have.

Despite the fail of GolferAid, I wanted to give the product a second chance, so I tried PartyAid. I was attracted to this product in particular because the suggested idea to drink it before and after partying. I figured I may as well try it the way it was suggested.

After a long night and having to have an early start, I decided to try PartyAid. I was incredibly surprised that it actually woke me up a bit; not to the same extent as a cup of coffee but just enough to be awake and attentive in class. I even had a friend try it to get a second opinion: https://vine.co/v/hgDMnqwVPx5/.

Having a higher tolerance for caffeine than I do, it didn’t affect him nearly as much, but he said he felt a bit of a rush but still needed a cup of coffee to get his day started.

With this said, I will not be purchasing this drink anytime soon for taste nor energy purposes.

 

In regards to an immediate jolt and on a scale of 1-10, I would rate PartyAid and GolfAid a two.

Leave a Reply

